Yards along I-96

Anything pertaining to railfanning in Michigan.
pbmaxno15
Railroadfan...fan

Yards along I-96

Unread post by pbmaxno15 »

A few weeks ago the wife and I were visiting some friends in Redford. We were headed into Downtown Detroit along I-96 and I noticed a couple of rail yards. They are located between Evergreen and the Southfield Freeway. I have very little knowledge of Detroit railroading and my friend had no clue. The yard on the north side had a few containers in it. There wasn't much at all in the yard on the south side. What facilities are these and what railroads do they serve? Thanks in advance for the info.

sd70accsxt700
Sofa King follower

Re: Yards along I-96

Unread post by sd70accsxt700 »

That is CSX Oak yard. Part of the yard, on the north side is leased to CP for intermodal. They run one train in and one train out. Also CSX has a few tracks on that side for switching cars and to service industries on the West Detroit Branch. It heads due east towards downtown, and has a few industries on it, Coke, a steel plant, and a few others. The south side part of the yard is for when the CP comes in with the intermodal train and parks it there. From there CSX crews switch it out to the other side. CP also parks there locos on the south side of the yard. Other then that the south side is only used for ocassonal set offs, of CP cars on X500 that need customs inspections, and for line of road bad orders.
https://flic.kr/ps/jSuAb My Flickr photos!

pbmaxno15
Railroadfan...fan

Unread post by pbmaxno15 »

Thanks for the quick response. That is what I thought, but I was not sure.

AARR
Incognito and Irrelevant

Unread post by AARR »

From what I hear the West Detroit Branch local runs two days a week. Outbound scrap steel is the main commodity. There's also a fair number of inbound steel coils. Then regular inbound syrup (for Coke) and brick. And then an occasional sand car, transformer, and lumber.