AMTK "Rusty Rail" in B.C. vs. High Speed Rail.

Anything pertaining to railfanning in Michigan.
Todd Cline
Railroadfan...fan

AMTK "Rusty Rail" in B.C. vs. High Speed Rail.

Unread post by Todd Cline »

For quite some time now Eastbound Amtraks have been heading into #1 main west of Battle Creek, and holding there at CP Custer to clear a Westbound Amtrak Then backing out to regain #2 main. . This is the west end of "double track" all the way THROUGH B.C., and out to CP Levitt. It is probably in better shape that #2 main, since it hasn't gotten any real use in the past several years. So why do this stupid routine? This was set up in 1987 to PASS trains seamlessly, not DELAY them needlessly.. The answer I hear all the time is "RUSTY RAIL". O.K., I'm not a rocket scientist, but I think that one way to avoid "rusty rail" would be to actually run some trains on those rails that are "rusty". I understand all the issues of rusty rails and signals, etc. I know why they hesitate to use that rusty rail, but all I am saying is "IT DOESN'T HAVE TO BE RUSTY!!!!". Just use it as it was intended! Instead they needlessly delay another train just because one is off schedule.
I'm all for "High Speed Rail", and I think that it IS possible. BUT, we need some common sense in play here. You can run all your trains at 110 mph. between KZOO and Porter, but then let them sit for an hour on the west side of B.C., and we have all just spent a ton of money for absolutely NOTHING. Still a LATE train.
Something as simple as actually using a passing siding as it was designed, would be a step in the right direction I think. Anyone here agree??

Todd

Ypsi
The Bestest Railroadfan... fan

Re: AMTK "Rusty Rail" in B.C. vs. High Speed Rail.

Unread post by Ypsi »